Church History​

From Past to Present

The Church of Our Lady of Fatima, a Catholic church, is more than 40 years old. The Church that began in July 1963 to cater mainly for the Tamil speaking faithful living in Brickfields, Bangsar, Pantai Dalam and Old Klang Road areas, today pastors to all Catholics living in these areas. With the number of housing projects that have developed within the Parish boundary in the last 40 years, the Catholic population has increased. The Parish of Our Lady of Fatima was instrumental in initiating the building of a Church in Puchong to cater for the spiritual and pastoral needs of a large Catholic population in that area.

The Church of Our Lady of Fatima was officially Blessed and Consecrated in July 1963 by the late Tan Sri Dominic Vendargon, Archbishop Emeritus, the then Archbishop of Kuala Lumpur. The administrator of the Parish was the late Rev Fr Noel Clement until the appointment of the late Rev Fr Swaminathan as the first resident Parish Priest in August 1963, It was he who established the administrative office in the Parish with the books for the registration of Baptisms, Deaths and Marriages. This was the beginning of the formal growth of the Parish.

Our Current Priests

Rev. Fr. Dr. Clarence Devadass

Rev. Fr. Dr. Clarence Devadass

A Diocesan Priest of the Archdiocese of Kuala Lumpur, is currently the Director of the Catholic Research Centre, Malaysia, the Executive Secretary of the Office of Theological Concerns in the Federation of Asian Bishops Conferences (FABC) and a Visiting Research Associate at the University of Nottingham, Malaysia. He is also the Editor of the magazine, Catholic Asian News.

Rev. Fr. Beranard

Rev. Fr. Bernard Hyacinth SJ​

A Jesuit priest, is the Director of the Office of Human Development in the Archdiocese of Kuala Lumpur and also oversees the Archdiocesan Lenten Campaign. Prior to returning to Malaysia, most of his ministry had been among the refugees in Europe, Asia Pacific and the Middle East. He continues even now to give retreats and spiritual direction to students, youths, adults and religious.

Our Former Priests

Fr Swaminathan (1963-1964)

Fr. Swaminathan


Fr Peter Bretaudeau MEP (1965-1966)

Fr. Peter Bretaudeau MEP


Fr John Mary Couchoron (1965-1973)

Fr. John Mary Couchoron OMI


Fr F.J. Nvaratnam OMI (1965)

Fr. F.J. Navaratnam OMI


Fr Florimond OMI (1965-1970)

Fr. Florimond OMI


Fr A. Chavet OMI ((1967-1970)

Fr A. Chavet OMI


Fr Emil Moraes OMI (1970-1979)

Fr. Emil Moraes OMI


Fr. A. Amalanathan


Fr Daniel Lim (1976)

Msgr. Daniel Lim


Fr James Gnanapiragasam (1998-2004)

Fr John Gnanapiragasam


Fr A. Ponnudurai SJ (1981-1988)

Fr. A. Ponnudurai SJ


Fr Joseph Pereira (1991-1998)

Fr. Joseph Pereira


Fr John Gnanapiragasam (1978)

Msgr. James Gnanapiragasam



Fr Clarence Devadass


Fr Leonard John (2011)

Fr Leonard John


Fr Martin Lam (2011-2012)

Fr Martin Lam


Fr Stanislaus Soosaimariam (2012-2015)

Fr Stanislaus Soosaimariam


Fr Ferdinand Magimay (2015-2019)

Fr Ferdinand Magimay


Priests from Our Parish

Fr Benedict Savarimuthu

Fr. Benedict Savarimuthu

Fr Eugene Benedict

Fr. Eugene Benedict

Fr. Patrick Boudeville.

Fr. Patrick Boudeville

Fr Ferdinand Magimay (2015-2019)

Fr. Ferdinand Magimay

Fr Christopher Wilvaraj

Fr. Christopher Wilvaraj


Church Calendar
July 2021
Subscribe to get the weekly bulletin
Scroll to Top